[Skip to Content]
English | Français

COS2024: Named Lectures and Awards


As you know, the COS Annual Meeting and Exhibition is a high-caliber event, defined in part by its excellent programming and the number of awards presented to outstanding ophthalmologists each year.

You can view the program schedule online.


2024 COS Lifetime Achievement Award

This award is given annually to honour a COS member who has made significant contributions to eye and vision care, a sustained impact nationally and internationally on the growth of the profession and maintained the highest standard of patient care in their practice. The recipient of this award has also been a strong and positive role model in the community and is a distinguished figure in Comprehensive Ophthalmology. The COS is privileged to honour the life and work of Dr. Salim Lahoud.


Canadian Journal of Ophthalmology Lecture

We are proud to present the Canadian Journal of Ophthalmology Lecture to Dr. Francesco Pichi, who will give the presentation titled Objective assessment of inflammation using OCT and OCTA during Current Concepts II on Saturday, June 1st from 10:02 – 10:22 am ET. He is Associate Professor of Ophthalmology at Case Western Reserve University and has to his credit more than 150 peer reviewed publications. He was awarded for the best paper and best poster presentation at American Academy of Ophthalmology 2015 and 2017 and at International Ocular Inflammatory Society in 2019, and also received the International Ophthalmology Educational Award (2016), the International Scholar Award (2018), the Achievement Award (2018) and the Lifelong Education award (2023) from AAO.


The COS-Dr. Harold Stein Innovator Lectureship

Dr. Kenneth Wright is the 2024 recipient of the COS-Dr. Harold Stein Innovator Lectureship and will present Innovations in Strabismus Surgery during Current Concepts III on Sunday, June 2nd from 8:57 – 9:17 am ET. Dr. Wright has been devoted to the welfare of children with eye disorders and the treatment of adults with strabismus for over 30 years. He is active as Director of the Wright Foundation and is Adjunct Professor at the prestigious Queen’s University, Kingston, Canada. This named lectureship was established by the family of Dr. Harold Stein (COS President in 1987 and Lifetime Achievement Award recipient in 2006).


Women in Ophthalmology Champion for Change

We are proud to present the Champion for Change Award to Dr. Setareh Ziai, MD, FRCSC, in recognition of her outstanding contribution to supporting the professional environment for Women in Ophthalmology. Join us on Saturday, June 1st from 16:15 – 17:45 ET for the Women in Ophthalmology Symposium: Own your greatness! Enhance your confidence at work and play.


2024 COS Awards for Excellence in Ophthalmic Research

Join us in celebrating the original and innovative research conducted by Canadian residents, fellows and medical students. Presented annually since 1995, the COS Awards for Excellence in Ophthalmic Research highlight paper (oral) presentations and poster presentations that deliver exceptional quality, importance and educational value benefiting Canadian ophthalmology.

2024 Paper Award Recipients

First Prize Recipient: Dominique Geoffrion (Université De Montréal)

Inflammatory tear cytokine levels in patients with Boston keratoprosthesis type 1 versus primary angle closure glaucoma

Second Prize Recipient: Winnie Yu (University of Toronto)

Cataract surgery complications in individuals who previously received intravitreal injections: a population-based cohort analysis

Third Prize Recipient: Kanchan Sainani (University of Toronto)

Evaluation of Visual Outcomes in Retinoblastoma Survivors and Determining Factors Predicting Failure of Vision Salvage

2024 Poster Award Recipients

First Prize Recipient: Ness Little (University of Toronto)

Adeno-Associated Virus (AAV) Mediated Expression of Bcl-xL Attenuates Apoptosis in Human Corneal Endothelial Cells

Second Prize Recipient: Chris Zajner (University of Western Ontario)

Patterns of Extraocular Muscle Enlargement in Graves’ Disease and Acromegaly

Third Prize Recipient: Sheetal Pundir (McGill University)

Concentration-Dependent Structural Effects of Pilocarpine on the Anterior Segment of the Eye

The winners will be recognized for their achievements during Current Concepts I on Friday, May 31st from 8:30 – 10:30 AM ET.


CAPOS Research Awards

The Canadian Association of Paediatric Ophthalmology and Strabismus (CAPOS) Award for best resident paper goes to Victoria Liu, MD. They will present Epidemiology of paediatric ocular pathologies and associated referral patterns (LANDSCAPE): A prospective study in the session Paediatrics I: Pediatric Ophthalmology & Strabismus: Vision Screening to Retinoblastoma on Saturday, June 1 from 16:15– 17:45 EST.

The recipient of the CAPOS Award for best medical student poster titled The Structural and Functional Impact of Retinopathy of Prematurity in a Group of School-Aged Children is Youjin Elizabeth Youn. They will presented with their certificate in the session Paediatrics III: Retinopathy of Prematurity: Pathophysiology and Best Evidence for Prevention and Treatment on Sunday, June 2 from 14:00 – 15:30 EST.


Ron Jans Clinical Cornea Research Award

The Ron Jans Clinical Cornea Research Award is presented by the Canadian Cornea, External Disease and Refractive Surgery. The 2024 recipient is Dominique Geoffrion. for their contribution Inflammatory tear cytokine levels in patients with Boston keratoprosthesis type 1 versus primary angle closure glaucoma paper will be presented in the cornea session Cornea I: Surgical Cornea on Friday, May 31st from 11:15 – 12:45 ET.


Congratulations to all of our award winners!